CUT IN HALF

A poem for Parashat BeShalach

By Rabbi Royi Shaffin

I am that fish

The fish that was cut in half when the sea parted

You never think about me when you read the story

But I was cut in half

To this day I swim in the sea

They call me the Moses Fish

Why didn’t God move me away from the edge before the Sea parted?

I don’t know

Why did I have to be cut in half?

I don’t know

Maybe because the entire story is about being cut in half

Moses was cut in half between his Egyptian family and his Hebrew family

The Israelites were cut in half between the comforts of Egypt, even as slaves, and the promise of a better life in the promised land

The people were cut in half between worshipping God and worshipping a golden calf

I am that fish that was cut in half

I was not the first to be cut in half

Abraham cut his sacrifices in half

Isaac was almost cut in half

Joseph’s coat was cut in half

Samson’s hair was cut in half

Samuel’s coat was cut as the kingdom was taken from Saul

I am that fish that was cut in half

On the eighth day they cut their children

On the Sabbath they cut their bread

Their meat they cut in their own special way

I am that fish that was cut in half

I swim through the Sea

And every so often

People see me and are reminded of that day that cut me in half

When the Sea was cut in half and the Children cut through on dry land

I am that fish that was cut in half
For more of Shepherd of Israel’s writings:

https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-hollywood-bible-royi-shaffin/1127094132

2 Responses

  1. Your poems are so inspiring and thought-provoking. Thank you for sharing.

    Best Regards,

    [image: Herr Von Muellerhoff Regular] Elizabeth Montes Head of School 915-833-0808 elpasojewishacademy.com

    [image: View Full Size Image]

    On Fri, Feb 10, 2017 at 8:50 AM, Shepherd of Israel wrote:

    > shepherdofisrael posted: “A poem for Parashat BeShalach By Rabbi Royi > Shaffin I am that fishThe fish that was cut in half when the sea parted You > never think about me when you read the story But I was cut in half To this > day I swim in the sea They call me the Moses Fis” >

  2. My father-in-law passed away in the last week. I felt as if my heart, Ruth’s heart, my sons’ , daughter-in- law, brother & sister-in laws hearts were cut in half. I know G-d will repair our hearts with sweet memories of Frank Raphael. May his
    soul rest in peace.

Leave a Reply

